Overblog
Edit page Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Full Circle
Full Circle
Menu
Art Resume

Art Resume

I am an Outsider and an artist-researcher. My works, mostly sculptural forms, heads and figures, have been presented in 39 exhibits, in-person and online since 2007-2008. I have translated, rewritten, and incorporated into this present website posts I originally wrote in French (2010-2023), which relate to my exploration of world art. In parallel with my work as an artist, I research and write a multidisciplinary study on the Dialogue between Consciousness and the Universe. 

Life is not a quiet river that begins upstream and ends in the ocean of the other world. It is made up of jerky periods, all different from each other. Early on, I worked as a translator, in particular, of Buddhist scriptures (Huineng, Le Sûtra de la plate-forme. Paris: You Feng, 1992). Lived, studied, and worked in China (Zhang Chengzhi, Les rivières du Nord. Beijing: Collection Panda, 1992, Zong Pu, “Haricots rouges” and “Le sacrifice du cœur”. Littérature chinoise, vol.3, 1992, Liang Xiaosheng, “Père” in Une terre fabuleuse. Beijing: Collection Panda, 1991. Pp. 57-111, Su Ye, “Impérissables souvenirs du sud du Yangtsé”, “Un clair de lune sur le torrent Suo”, and “Ma chanson courte sur le banc de sable”. Littérature chinoise, Vol. 2, 1991). My most recent translation from Chinese into French (Gao Yang, Le Dévouement du Marchand. Paris: You Feng) was published in 2008.

Research in the artistic dimension began for me in 2006 with wire, mixed assemblage, imitations in oil and ink of symbols and geometric signs, parietal engravings, petroglyphs, African masks, and artifacts from Neolithic sites. Today, I ultimately wonder if even the oracle bone script and Chinese pictograms were not, in my own eye, sculptural images. As Giacometti noted, the act of copying - from the Tower of Babel to the statues of Gandhara - is a tool to see better through the eyes of other cultures and civilizations, as if each copy added a stone to the foundations of my own vision. My ink and oil paintings are mostly signed with my sinicized name 嘉德林. In 2008, stone carving became my main focus. 

 

Friend of The Healing Power of Art and Artists

Member of the National Association of Women Artists

Associate Member of the Allied Artists of America

 

2019-2022: Metal sculpture class at the Art League of Alexandria with Donna Reinsel

2010-2015: Stone carving class at the Art League of Alexandria, first with Kreshnik Xhiku, then with George Tkabladze

2009: Drawing class at The Studio (Shanghai)

2008-2009: Pottery class at the Pottery Workshop (Shanghai) 

Spring 2008: Introduction to stone carving with John Sonnier at the Corcoran College of Art in Washington, D.C. 

2007: Drawing class at Torpedo Factory

2006-2007: Sculpture class at the Arlington Art Center (AAC)